Join Us / Follow Us

Senate Vote for Background Checks

In early December 2015, following the deadliest mass shooting since Sandy Hook, NRA-backed lawmakers voted to block efforts to pass common-sense gun laws -- again.

But some lawmakers voted the right way, and took a brave stand for life-saving reforms. See how your senator voted below, and then call their offices to tell them how you feel about their decision.

State Senator Name How Did They Vote? Take Action
Alabama Richard Shelby (R) / Jeff Sessions (R) No Call Now
Alaska Lisa Murkowski (R) / Dan Sullivan (R) No Call Now
Arizona John McCain (R) Yes Call Now
Arizona Jeff Flake (R) No Call Now
Arkansas John Boozman (R) / Tom Cotton (R) No Call Now
California Dianne Feinstein (D) / Barbara Boxer (D) Yes Call Now
Colorado Michael Bennet (D) Yes Call Now
Colorado Cory Gardner (R) No Call Now
Connecticut Richard Blumenthal (D) / Chris Murphy (D) Yes Call Now
Delaware Tom Carper (D) / Chris Coons (D) Yes Call Now
Florida Bill Nelson (D) Yes Call Now
Florida Marco Rubio (R) No Call Now
Georgia Johnny Isakson (R) / David Perdue (R) No Call Now
Hawaii Brian Schatz (D) / Mazie Hirono (D) Yes Call Now
Idaho Mike Crapo (R) / Jim Risch (R) No Call Now
Illinois Dick Durbin (D) / Mark Kirk (R) Yes Call Now
Indiana Dan Coats (R) No Call Now
Indiana Joe Donnelly (D) Yes Call Now
Iowa Chuck Grassley (R) / Joni Ernst (R) No Call Now
Kansas Pat Roberts (R) / Jerry Moran (R) No Call Now
Kentucky Mitch McConnell (R) / Rand Paul (R) No Call Now
Louisiana David Vitter (R) / Bill Cassidy (R) No Call Now
Maine Susan Collins (R) / Angus King (I) Yes Call Now
Maryland Barbara Mikulski (D) / Ben Cardin (D) Yes Call Now
Massachusetts Elizabeth Warren (D) / Ed Markey (D) Yes Call Now
Michigan Debbie Stabenow (D) / Gary Peters (D) Yes Call Now
Minnesota Amy Klobuchar (D) / Al Franken (D) Yes Call Now
Mississippi Thad Cochran (R) / Roger Wicker (R) No Call Now
Missouri Claire McCaskill (D) Yes Call Now
Missouri Roy Blunt (R) No Call Now
Montana Jon Tester (D) Yes Call Now
Montana Steve Daines (R) No Call Now
Nebraska Deb Fischer (R) / Ben Sasse (R) No Call Now
Nevada Harry Reid (D) Yes Call Now
Nevada Dean Heller (R) No Call Now
New Hampshire Jeanne Shaheen (D) Yes Call Now
New Hampshire Kelly Ayotte (R) No Call Now
New Jersey Bob Menendez (D) / Cory Booker (D) Yes Call Now
New Mexico Tom Udall (D) / Martin Heinrich (D) Yes Call Now
New York Chuck Schumer (D) / Kirsten Gillibrand (D) Yes Call Now
North Carolina Richard Burr (R) / Thom Tillis (R) No Call Now
North Dakota John Hoeven (R) / Heidi Heitkamp (D) No Call Now
Ohio Sherrod Brown (D) Yes Call Now
Ohio Rob Portman (R) No Call Now
Oklahoma Jim Inhofe (R) / James Lankford (R) No Call Now
Oregon Ron Wyden (D) / Jeff Merkley (D) Yes Call Now
Pennsylvania Bob Casey, Jr. (D) / Pat Toomey (R) Yes Call Now
Rhode Island Jack Reed (D) / Sheldon Whitehouse (D) Yes Call Now
South Carolina Lindsey Graham (R) / Tim Scott (R) No Call Now
South Dakota John Thune (R) / Mike Rounds (R) No Call Now
Tennessee Lamar Alexander (R) / Bob Corker (R) No Call Now
Texas John Cornyn (R) / Ted Cruz (R) No Call Now
Utah Orrin Hatch (R) / Mike Lee (R) No Call Now
Vermont Patrick Leahy (D) / Bernie Sanders (I) Yes Call Now
Virginia Mark Warner (D) Absent Call Now
Virginia Tim Kaine (D) Yes Call Now
Washington Patty Murray (D) / Maria Cantwell (D) Yes Call Now
West Virginia Joe Manchin (D) Yes Call Now
West Virginia Shelley Moore Capito (R) No Call Now
Wisconsin Ron Johnson (R) Absent Call Now
Wisconsin Tammy Baldwin (D) Yes Call Now
Wyoming Mike Enzi (R) / John Barrasso (R) No Call Now